Let it all begin

Wow I can’t believe it!! My adventures are already under way…. I have woken early to my mind buzzing with excitement filled with ideas and questions…

Yesterday was the day I set things in motion and my plans have changed dramatically… Originally I was going to spend most of my time in Ecuador. After some research I keep finding so many places in South America to visit. So much beauty, so much to do….

I was planning on purchasing a one way ticket and seeing where things ended up.. On talking to a mate from work he mentioned his brother in-law worked at a travel agent and I should give him a call. After a busy days searching for some new work shoes I arrived home and called the travel agent!!

He was so helpful and gave me some great ideas! instantly I decided I wanted to venture around the whole of South America!. I was amazed at the price of a return ticket from Melbourne Australia.. I was expecting to pay the amount of a return ticket one way…. The only downside to the return ticket is its valid from one year when you depart! I keep thinking is that enough? well I wouldn’t really be at a loss if I changed my mind and could stay…. I guess its better to be safe and have a definite return if you do run out of cash?

Finally I decided, I will buy my tickets today!!! I know how bad I am with plans and time slips away without warning. I knew I had to make the commitment and get things rolling….

I purchased a ticket from Melbourne Australia to Buenos Aires Argentina returning via Rid De Janeiro. The date is set for the 26th of November 2013.

Its all too exciting and I just want to go now!! The only time I have been out of Australia was for a skiing trip to New Zealand last year.. This trip is going to be very different.

I will be travelling alone just looking for adventure. Meeting new people, seeing beautiful places and challenging myself to do something I have always dreamed of.

I have so many questions and so many ideas…. I’m really not sure where to start and how to go about my itinerary. I want to have a good idea on my route and time frames to and from countries so I make the most of my time!

I have not read up on much of the countries outside of Ecuador. I think I would like to travel through Argentina and move south, then north through Chile to Bolivia then onto Peru into Ecuador and the Galapagos. North into Colombia then onto Venezuela back south through the Amazon into Brazil working my way towards Rio…

At all seems to much to accomplish in one year and not miss anything!!! I was just thinking maybe a one way ticket would have been a good idea but like I said if you get stuck you always have a return…

I am not planning for a luxury trip.. I have hiked enough in the years and I don’t mind roughing it! I just want to see and experience as much as possible.. I will be taking a camera, a couple of lenses and a pack full of everything I need!.

The trip will range from hot to cold… what exactly to carry? I need the perfect size pack to hold my life for one year……

I could use all the help to answer my questions. It would be greatly appreciated if you could give any information…

I have so many questions on:

  • What places I shouldn’t miss.
  • The best places to stay- places I can work for free board (hotels, hostels, couchsurfing etc)
  • Packing tips
  • The best places for photography (landscapes, birds and wildlife)
  • Volunteering locations- wildlife, orphanages, farming, tribal communities
  • Local guides I can pay to take me on trips (instead of expensive tour companies)

The list goes on and on……..

I have found some good information on the internet, a few sites below have been great.

One of my workmates has been to South America so we will be catching up soon to talk about all of his travels.

Well that will be that for today. I hope you guys enjoy. looking forward to any replies!

9 thoughts on “Let it all begin

  1. Bro! You’re leaving me! Haha!

    I’m glad you can go but you won’t be here for my 16th but oh well. You can just adopt an Elephant for me or something like that! 😉

    So, basically we will have to write letters to each other most of the time!

    I’m looking forward to reading all about your adventure and hope you have the most magical time over in South America! 🙂 xx

    • Hey Mel,

      Thanks for your message!! you will have plenty more birthdays that we can celebrate!! there will also be places that have wifi so we can skype, email etc etc…. won’t be much different from me being up here!!

      wish you could come along!! we will do a trip together later on!! somewhere we can ride elephants 🙂

      love you xoxo

  2. I feel so excited, even though I am not going, it will still be a great adventure,and I am looking forward to your journey and reading all your blogs. 🙂

  3. All the best Brenden! I am soooo jealous! Wish I were young again. Maybe your mum and I can runaway and hide in your suitcase 🙂

  4. It’s soooo exciting. I wish you all the best Brenden and safe travels. It will be an amazing trip for sure. Wish I had time to travel as well, miss backpacking so much. You’ll have the time of your life, meeting interesting people and getting to know their culture. Can’t wait to read about your experiences.

    • Thanks Denise,

      It’s all pretty exciting. Slightly nervous now because it feels like I have blinked and time has flown by. Still have a bit to organise, still plenty of stuff to sell that I won’t need.

      I will keep you all updated as I get things organised!

      xoxo

  5. Hey Brenden,
    Here’s a link to one of my many other cousins blog about his bike trip from melb to London.
    Being on a bike he could carry a bit more than you will but some of his earlier posts might be good for ideas about what to take. http://ryanbeales.blogspot.com.au/

    P.s. you lucky bastard…(not that I’m jealous or anything)

Leave a Reply

