68 days and 40 hours until landing in Buenos Aires, Argentina

Image

With five weeks of paid work from now until I leave everything I live off from then will be what I have in my pack and the money I have in my account.

I have my final visit with the travel doctor on Monday for my last round of the rabies vaccination along with a measles booster as I am not immune and another shot to which I cannot remember? It was a costly necessity for all of the vaccinations but I would rather be safe then sorry. I spent approximately $600 on doctor visit and vaccinations along with a blood test because I could not find paperwork to know exactly which vaccinations I had in the past. Thankfully now everything is recorded in a nice yellow book along with proof of my Yellow Fever vaccination which is the only shot that is required for entry/exit for Countries with the disease.

I am in the final stages of selling my belongings that I do not require when I return and donating any old clothes I will not wear.

I have purchased a new camera, I have the Sony Nex 5N with 18-55mm and 55-210mm lenses. I have only had the chance to use it for one day and I am still unsure if its what I want? It’s pretty compact and picture quality seems to be good. I am used to a Canon DSLR but I wanted to carry something smaller and lighter. I will give it some more testing before I go to make sure I am happy..

I am busy sifting through Hostels online to see where I will stay when I first arrive. I am never good at making decisions so its difficult to decide. Buenos Aires is so big!!! I am not much of a city lover but it will be an experience visiting a city so big.

I am also looking through the host list for WWOOFING (World Wide Opportunities on Organic Farms). There are a few farms I would like to work at. I just need to get my application together and send it to the farms I am interested in and hopefully get an offer.

I am looking forward to working and trying some new things. I am from the country and a farming town but I have never worked on a farm. It will be a great way to meet the local people and learn their way of living while also having the opportunity to stay in the one place and travel around on weekends etc.

The more I think of my trip the more time I want to spend in each place I go. I don’t want everyday to be spent on buses and getting around. I would like to stay in the places I find interesting for a while and get to know the people and the way of life. I am still looking for Volunteer opportunities- in any way that I can help.

I am still having trouble finding volunteer work in Argentina. I have found a couple of places working with orphanages. I’m sure that I will come across more when I am in the country.

For now I just need to concentrate on getting ready… Keeping up with my Spanish lessons (I’m about half way to where I thought I would be by now). Life gets so busy and I am very lazy on my days off. Time feels like it slipped away. I need to remind myself of how close it is until I go otherwise I will be trying to sort everything out on the last day!

I am not worried and I am not excited.. Life just feels normal. I am looking forward to something different. Meeting new people, seeing new things. It wont start to feel like things are happening until I finish work and I leave the house with my bag to hop on the plane.

Then we will see. It will be awesome! I’m sure it will be.

4 thoughts on “68 days and 40 hours until landing in Buenos Aires, Argentina

  1. Hi Brendan, what travel insurance and bank have you gone with? I have read a lot about travellers from America but not a lot from us Aussies…. Are there any Good Travel bloggers fro here that you follow? Also try http://www.helpx.net for home stay/ volunteering opportunities. I’m excited for you 🙂

    • Hi Karlie,

      Thank you for your message. I’m very new to blogging and hope I can be of some help to others.
      I decided to go with STA Travel Insurance through Allianz for my insurance

      http://www.statravel.com.au/insurance-comparison.htm

      It was a good price for the one year of travel and it automatically covers you for a lot of adventure activities like mountain bike riding, skiing, paragliding etc. So a must because I hope to do some of these.

      As for banking.. I am still working all of this out. I have an ANZ travel card from previous travels but they do not hold the currencies for most of the Countries I am visiting. You can add AUD or USD dollars. I just need to work out fees and conversion rates to see which way my money will keep its value.

      Hard not to know a lot of these things, I’m sure I will find out a lot more once there.

      Unfortunately I have not really found any bloggers. I do follow a guy on Facebook who is from Queensland with some good travel tips and stories. https://www.facebook.com/TNTraveller?ref=br_tf

      thank you for the homestay site, I have not seen it before so I will check it out.

      Thanks again for your message, I hope I can help as I get more into blogging and feel free to ask any questions. I will do my best to help answer them.

  2. Hi Brenden,

    I am planning on going to South America for a year at the end of August to do a loop of the continent. Besides WWOOF, have you found any other reasonably priced volunteer agencies. I haven’t been able to find anything for Paraguay and Uruguay really, since they seem to be less touristy.

    Thanks!

    • Hey Julia,

      Thank you for your message. I have not had a look at Uruguay or Paraguay as I am not visiting. Are you heading away next year August? Where are you starting and where do you want to go? I’m interested to see what you have planned.

      There is some great volunteer oppertunites on this site http://www.volunteersouthamerica.net/
      however only 1 in each of Uruguay and Paraguay.

      I would like to Volunteer with http://www.ecuadorecovolunteer.org/ as they are trying to only offer projects that are non profit. Cost is quite good.

      As yet I do not have anything set up ready to go.. I do like the look of these guys too http://www.rcdpinternationalvolunteer.org/
      http://www.ecoteer.com/

      I have not contacted any of these organisations so I do not know what they are like. I will report on anyone I do use when I am away.

      I’m doing as much as I can to find places online but I do think it will be easier finding places when I am there.

      Hope I have helped a little. Thanks again for the message

Leave a Reply

